The Philadelphia Carpenters Museum will open its doors for exclusive, guided tours on Saturday, June 3, 2017.
Located at the Northeast Regional Council of Carpenters’ (NRCC) Philadelphia offices (1811 Spring Garden Street), the Carpenters Museum houses rare tools and other unique artifacts from the early days of the founding of the United Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of America (UBC) in 1881.
The museum will be open on June 3rd to Union Carpenter members, their friends and families as well as the general public between the hours of 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Free parking is available behind the Union hall on Brandywine Street.
Featured exhibits include:
- Original union membership cards of Peter J. McGuire, the founder of the UBC, who is credited with leading the movement to establish the Labor Day holiday. McGuire, who also helped found the American Federation of Labor, was a member of the Philadelphia Carpenters Union Local 8 from 1882 until his death in 1906.
- Large Collection of carpenter saws including early Diston hand Saws.
- A Carpenter work table from the 1700’s
- A large collection of Carpenter tools with many rare pieces including Pike and Dean Planes from Philadelphia in 1875, an Electric Floor Scraper from 1906 and rare plane made with Ivory.